News and Views on Africa from Africa
Last update: 1 July 2022 h. 10:44
Subscribe to our RSS feed
RSS logo

Latest news



23 December 2004 - koinonia

December 1: Former cabinet minister Nicholas Biwott is barred from entering the US over corruption allegations.

December 3: Parliament passes a motion to amend the Bomas Draft.

December 5: Three students are killed in a stampede at a popular Nairobi discotheque.

December 7: President Kibaki announces that despite free education, parents must meet the cost of building new schools.

December 9: Parliament, political parties and the police are named as the most corrupt institutions in the country in a report by Transparency International.

December 10: Top government officials are named in the Ndungu land report as among those who acquired land illegally.

December 10: Prof Wangari Maathai receives her Nobel Peace prize in Oslo, Norway.

November 3: A stranger is arrested at President Kibaki’s private quarters in State House.

November 6: Kenya Wildlife Service director is suspended over recruitment scandal

November 12: President Kibaki orders the pension fund- NSSF chiefs to bring back funds looted form the parastatal.

Part III: Appendix – Kenya’s cabinet

Office of the President:

Mwai Kibaki

Minister of state in charge of Provincial Administration and Internal Security
Dr Chris Murungaru

Minister of state in charge of Public Service
William ole Ntimama

Minister of state in charge of special programmes
Njenga Karume

Office of the Vice President and Ministry of Home Affairs and National Heritage

Vice President
Moody Awori
Minister for Home Affairs
Mrs Lina Kilimo
Minister for heritage
Najib Balala
Minister for Energy
Simeon Nyachae
Minister for Foreign Affairs
Ali Mwakwere
Minister for Roads and Public Works
Eng. Raila Odinga
Minister for Health
Mrs Charity Ngilu
Minister for Regional Development
Abdi Mohammed
Minister for Planning and National Development
Prof. Anyang Nyongo
Minister for Agriculture
Kipruto Kirwa
Minister for Livestock and Fisheries Development
Joseph Munyao
Minister for Education, Science and Technology
Prof. George Saitoti
Minister for Transport
John Michuki
Minister for Local Government
Musikari Kombo
Minister for Water Resources
Ms Martha Karua
Minister for Finance
David Mwiraria
Minister for Information and Communication
Raphael Tuju
Minister for Trade and Industry
Dr Mukhisa Kituyi
Minister for Lands, Settlement and housing
Amos Kimunya
Minister for Environment and Natural resources
Kalonzo Musyoka
Minister for Labour
Newton Kulundu
Minister for Co-operative development and marketing
Peter Ndwiga
Minister for Justice and Constitutional Affairs
Kiraitu Murungi
Minister for gender, sports, culture and Social Services
Ochilo Ayako
Minister for East African co-operation
John Koech
Attorney General
Amos Wako

Contact the editor by clicking here Editor