News and Views on Africa from Africa
Last update: 1 July 2022 h. 10:44
Subscribe to our RSS feed
RSS logo

Latest news


Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism

Africanews staff

The Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism recognizes independent and professional reporting that sheds new light on controversial issues. Established in 2002, two $10,000 prizes are awarded each year, one to a local reporter in a developing country or nation in transition, and the other to a freelance journalist covering international news.
The stories can focus on conflict, human-rights concerns, cross- border issues, or any other issue of controversy in a particular country or region.

Underwritten by the Kurt Schork Memorial Fund and Reuters, and administered by the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, the prizes were created to honor Kurt Schork, an American freelance journalist who was killed in a military ambush while on assignment for Reuters on May 24, 2000, in Sierra Leone.

2002 Winners
2002 Press Release
History of the Kurt Schork Awards
Biography of Kurt Schork

Local Journalist: Print journalists employed by a local news outlet and residing in a developing country or nation in transition whose work has been published in a local publication are eligible. Although individual journalists are the primary focus, submissions from a team of journalists will also be considered.
Freelance Journalist: Freelance print journalists and those contracted by news organizations are eligible. A freelance journalist is an individual who is not employed by a news organization. They are self-employed, providing services, either on the basis of time or on the production of editorial materials as defined by individual contractual arrangements, and earn the majority of their income from journalistic activity.

How to Enter
Print articles are eligible if they originally appeared in print between May 1, 2002 and March 30, 2003.
The submissions must demonstrate professionalism, meet international journalistic standards, and provide evidence that courage and determination played a role in generating the articles. Winners will be chosen by an international panel of five judges.

Each applicant must submit six (6) copies of the following:

Freelance Journalist Entry Form or Local Journalist Entry Form (Adobe Acrobat required). If you do not have Acrobat Reader, you may download it from Adobe.
The original articles (up to three), accompanied by English translations. E-mail submissions will not be accepted. The applicant's curriculum vitae, listing education and journalistic experience, with dates.
A statement providing background and context for the story submitted.

A signed original letter from the editor of the publication on official letterhead supporting the submission for the Kurt Schork Award, including confirmation of the nominee's employment status with the publication.
One (1) photograph. Photocopies of photographs will not be accepted.
Deadline for entries is May 1, 2003.

Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism
Graduate School of Journalism
Columbia University
2950 Broadway MC3800
New York, NY 10027
(212) 854-8653

Contact the editor by clicking here Editor